Ottobock Global Foundation

Worldwide, there are around 150 million children with a physical disability. Numerous are restricted in their movement by amputations or physical deformities. As a result, they often suffer particularly from a lack of social participation. A large proportion of them live in newly industrialized or developing countries where they have no or only limited access to orthopaedic care.

Professor Hans Georg Näder founded the Ottobock Global Foundation in 2015. It provides people in need worldwide with prostheses, orthoses and wheelchairs and is committed to better healthcare and a better quality of life for people with physical disabilities - especially for children and young people in low and middle income countries.

Help for people in need

People with physical or mental impairments are particularly vulnerable groups of society in times of emergency and conflict. Therefore, they need our focused encouragement. The Ottobock Global Foundation provides immediate and need-oriented support in conflict situations and after disasters such as floods, earthquakes or explosions.

To ensure agile and effective support, we work with specialized project partners on site. Together with partners such as “A Heart for Children” and Human Plus e.V., the Ottobock Global Foundation provided wheelchairs for children and young people from Syria and Ukraine. Through our clinical partner network, we enable care for refugees in border areas. In Ukraine, the foundation will also be involved in rebuilding the country's care infrastructures.

Instagram Feed

Orthoses and prostheses for disadvantaged children and young people in Peru

The Diospi Suyana Missionary Hospital in the Peruvian Andes provides medical care for the poor, mainly indigenous population from southern Peru. The Quechua Indians are still affected by ethnic persecution and social discrimination.

The Ottobock Global Foundation supports the provision of orthoses and prostheses for children and young people in the orthopedic technology center of the hospital. This is the state's first orthopedic technology workshop and gives local access to assistive technology for around 500,000 people.

The German orthopedic technician master Christian Haupt takes care of the professional fitting. He moved to Peru with his family in August 2021 to volunteer with his expertise in the improvement of healthcare. The construction and the ongoing operations of the hospital are exclusively financed by donations.

Prosthetic components and wheelchairs for children in Uganda

An estimated 14.000 amputations are performed annually in Uganda. Due to political conflicts, widespread poverty and a limited health care system, professional orthopaedic care is hardly accessible to many affected people – there is a lack of medical facilities, qualified personnel, equipment and funding.

The Ottobock Global Foundation is therefore cooperating with Pro Uganda e. V. to improve prosthetic care and quality of life in the East African country. The association set up an orthopaedic workshop, in which more than 1.000 people already got a professional treatment and various trainings took place. The foundation donated prosthetic components and materials for children. It also covered the transport costs of 116 wheelchairs donated by Ottobock to Pro Uganda. The wheelchairs are used for training and distributed to health institutions.

500,000 EUR for victims of the flood disaster in Germany

Ottobock Global Foundation and Prof. Hans Georg Näder support affected families

Rainfalls in Germany in July 2021 have caused devastating damage. Places have been cut off from the outside world, houses have been washed away and people lost their lives. Due to its geographical situation, the Ahr Valley was severely affected. In order to provide immediate relief there, the Ottobock Global Foundation and the Näder family donated a total of 500,000 EUR for families who are facing special challenges due to the mental and physical disabilities of relatives.

The Bundesvereinigung Lebenshilfe e.V. made the funds available to affected families in cooperation with the state associations of Rhineland-Palatinate and North Rhine-Westphalia and Lebenshilfe Ahrweiler. Even months after the flood disaster, many families continue to live in a state of emergency. The financial donation from the Ottobock Global Foundation and the Näder family provided relief for a total of 46 families with relatives with disabilities in this extraordinary situation. The remaining funds will also benefit the affected Lebenshilfe institutions.

More than 100 wheelchairs for Beirut

Provide immediate assistance with the shipment of more than 100 wheelchairs: (from left to right) Annette Otte and Florian Grewe from the ZUFALL logistics Group as well as Oliver Jakobi, CSO of Ottobock, and Karsten Ley, Chairman of the Board of the Ottobock Global Foundation. Ottobock and regional logistics partner provide emergency relief. 

The devastating explosion in Beirut injured more than 4,000 people. Together with the Ottobock Global Foundation, the internationally active medical technology company Ottobock, based in Duderstadt, Germany, is providing emergency relief and sending more than 100 wheelchairs to Beirut. “The people need our support quickly now. The majority of the population in Lebanon lives in Beirut. So almost every family is affected by the disaster”, says Prof Hans Georg Näder, owner of Ottobock, about the humanitarian aid. The responsible Chief Sales Officer (CSO) Oliver Jakobi adds, “Local medical care is particularly important now. Together with the German logistics partner ZUFALL, our team made it possible to deliver aid in a short time. I would like to thank everyone involved in this.”

The Ottobock Global Foundation coordinates the joint project. “As a first step, the Ottobock site in Königsee will provide wheelchairs that we will ship to Beirut. We will then talk to aid organisations on site to find out to what extent further fittings, especially with prostheses, are necessary”, says Chairman of the Board Karsten Ley. Since 2015, the Ottobock Global Foundation has been particularly supporting children and young people in disaster areas. 

As a long-standing partner of Ottobock, the German logistics partner ZUFALL is responsible for shipping the wheelchairs. “This tragedy also deeply affects us at ZUFALL, which is why we are very happy to support the relief action,” explains Florian Grewe, Head of Marketing. His colleague Annette Otte, Head of the Sea freight department, adds, “The wheelchairs are loaded into a container at our logistics centre, transported to Hamburg and shipped from there. Due to the closure of the port of Beirut, shipping will take place via the port of Tripoli, Lebanon, about 80 km away. The transit time is expected to be 10 days.”

Children in need ‒ Help for Syria

A bloody civil war has been raging in Syria for a long time, which has claimed around half a million victims. The large number of medical supplies for the refugees, some of whom are seriously injured and traumatised, poses a particular challenge for the authorities and aid workers. Especially for children who have suffered injuries during the war and while fleeing, quick and expert help is urgently needed to prevent consequential damage to their physical and mental development.

For several years now, the Ottobock Global Foundation has been active in the Syrian-Turkish border region to provide injured refugee children with prostheses, orthoses and wheelchairs.

When caring for the children, the Ottobock Global Foundation attaches great importance to being able to clearly trace which people have been cared for where and when. The members of the Board of Directors visit the facilities at regular intervals and talk to partners and patients in order to ensure even more targeted care. Ottobock Turkey is an important partner in this project.

A heart for children ‒ Project Syria

The Ottobock Global Foundation donated wheelchairs for disabled children and young people as part of the ZDF gala “A Heart for Children”. The organisation Human Plus e.V. , a project partner of “Ein Herz für Kinder”, had registered a need.

“It is a matter close to my heart to help children in need. Many boys and girls have suffered serious injuries in the war, are traumatised and depend on aids. It is important that we support them and do not leave them alone in their need”, Näder explains his commitment.

The Ottobock Global Foundation has already handed over twelve wheelchairs to children in Syria, and another twelve will be given to boys and girls in the Ukraine.

A heart for children ‒ Project Ukraine

As a former Soviet state, Ukraine theoretically promises free health care for every citizen. The reality, however, is completely different: The budget deficit, economic crisis and lack of reforms have meant that health care is free only on paper. This presents families with disabled children with enormous challenges.

As already tested in the Syria project, the partners Ein Herz für Kinder, Human Plus e.V. and the Ottobock Global Foundation have therefore launched another project for children and young people from the greater Kiev area. Here, too, the focus was on the supply of adapted and in some cases made-to-measure wheelchairs. A total of 12 children and young people were provided with aids.

A heart for children ‒ Help for Rabat

The Ottobock Global Foundation supported Bild “A Heart for Children” as an active partner in the implementation of an aid delivery for children and young people in Morocco. The health care system is well developed compared to other African countries. However, medical care for the urban population is much better than for the rural population. Nevertheless, many families with mobility-impaired children find it very difficult to provide them with appropriate aids. The Ottobock Global Foundation and Bild “A Heart for Children” also cooperated in this project to make electric wheelchairs available to children and young people.

Organs of the foundation

Board

Julia Näder
Board Ottobock Global Foundation
Dr. Berit Hamer
Board Ottobock Global Foundation
Karsten Ley
Board Ottobock Global Foundation

Supervisory Board

Prof. Hans Georg Näder
Chairman of the Supervisory Board/Founder of the Ottobock Global
Prof. Dr. med. Axel Ekkernkamp
Supervisory Board and Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory BoardOttobock Global Foundation
Oliver Jakobi
Supervisory Board Ottobock Global Foundation
Prof. Dr. med. Bernhard Greitemann
Supervisory Board Ottobock Global Foundation

You can support us this way:

Help us to provide injured children with aids and thus give them back independence and quality of life. Every donation counts. Donations instead of gifts. For the next festive occasion, instead of gifts, make a donation for “children in need”.

From a donation amount of 200 Euro you will receive a donation receipt. Please let us know your address. For amounts below this amount, the remittance slip is sufficient for presentation to the tax office.

Donation account:

Ottobock Global Foundation
Deutsche Bank
IBAN: DE55 1007 0000 0937 0370 00
BIC: DEUTDEBBXXX

Or donate here:

Ottobock Global Foundation

Weltweit leben rund 150 Millionen Kinder mit einer körperlichen Behinderung. Viele sind durch Amputationen oder körperliche Fehlbildungen in ihrer Bewegung eingeschränkt. Sie leiden dadurch häufig besonders an einer mangelnden sozialen Teilhabe. Ein Großteil davon leben in Schwellen- oder Entwicklungsländern, in denen sie keinen oder lediglich limitierten Zugang zu einer orthopädischen Versorgung haben.

2015 gründete Professor Hans Georg Näder die Ottobock Global Foundation. Sie versorgt Menschen in Not weltweit mit Prothesen, Orthesen und Rollstühlen und setzt sich für eine bessere Gesundheitsversorgung und mehr Lebensqualität von Menschen mit körperlichem Handicap ein - insbesondere für Kinder und Jugendliche in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen.

Hilfe für Menschen in Not

Menschen mit körperlichen oder geistigen Einschränkungen zählen in Not- und Konfliktsituationen zu den besonders vulnerablen Gruppen der Gesellschaft und benötigen daher verstärkt unsere Unterstützung. Die Ottobock Global Foundation hilft bei Konfliktsituationen und nach Katastrophen wie Überschwemmungen, Erdbeben oder Explosionen unmittelbar und bedarfsorientiert.

Um eine agile und effektive Unterstützung zu gewährleisten, arbeiten wir mit spezialisierten Projektpartnern vor Ort zusammen. Mit Partnern wie „Ein Herz für Kinder“ und Human Plus e.V. stellte die Ottobock Global Foundation zum Beispiel Rollstühle für Kinder und Jugendliche aus Syrien und der Ukraine zur Verfügung. Über unser klinisches Partnernetzwerk kümmern wir uns um die Versorgung von Flüchtlingen in grenznahen Gebieten. In der Ukraine wird sich die Stiftung zudem beim Wiederaufbau der Versorgungstrukturen im Land engagieren.

Instagram Feed

Orthesen und Prothesen für benachteiligte Kinder in Peru

Das Missionskrankenhaus Diospi Suyana in den peruanischen Anden leistet medizinische Versorgung für die arme vorwiegend indigene Bevölkerung aus dem Süden des Landes. Die Quechua-Indianern sind bis heute von ethnischer Verfolgung und gesellschaftlicher Diskriminierung betroffen.

Die Ottobock Global Foundation unterstützt die Versorgung von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Orthesen und Prothesen im orthopädietechnischen Zentrum des Krankenhauses. Dieses ist die erste Orthopädietechnik-Werkstatt des Bundeslandes und ermöglicht etwa 500.000 Menschen den lokalen Zugang zu Hilfsmitteln.  

Die fachgerechte Anpassung übernimmt der deutsche Orthopädietechnik-Meister Christian Haupt. Er zog im August 2021 mit seiner Familie nach Peru, um ehrenamtlich die Gesundheitsversorgung mit seiner Fachkompetenz zu verbessern. Der Aufbau sowie die laufende Finanzierung des Krankenhauses erfolgt ausschließlich durch Spenden.

Prothesenkomponenten und Rollstühle für Kinder in Uganda

Schätzungsweise 14.000 Amputationen werden jährlich in Uganda durchgeführt. Aufgrund von politischen Konflikten, Armut und einem eingeschränkten medizinischen Versorgungssystem ist die fachgerechte orthopädische Versorgung für viele Betroffene jedoch kaum zugänglich - es fehlt an geeigneten Kliniken, Fachpersonal, Material und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten.

Die Ottobock Global Foundation kooperiert daher mit Pro Uganda e. V., um die prothetische Versorgung und die Lebensqualität in dem ostafrikanischen Land zu verbessern. Der Verein baute eine orthopädietechnische Werkstatt auf, in der bereits über 1.000 Menschen versorgt und verschiedene Schulungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt wurden. Die Stiftung spendete Passteile und Materialien für Kinderversorgungen. Darüber hinaus übernahm sie die Transportkosten für 116 Rollstühlen, die vom Unternehmen Ottobock an Pro Uganda gespendet wurden. Die Rollstühle werden für die Ausbildung verwendet sowie kostenlos an Gesundheitseinrichtungen weitergegeben.

500.000€ für Opfer der Flutkatastrophe im Ahrtal

Die Ottobock Global Foundation und Prof. Hans Georg Näder unterstützen betroffene Familien

Die Unwetter in Deutschland im Juli 2021 haben verheerende Schäden verursacht - Orte waren von der Außenwelt abgeschnitten, Häuser wurden weggespült und Menschen kamen ums Leben. Das Ahrtal war aufgrund seiner geografischen Gegebenheit stark von den Auswirkungen der Regenfälle betroffen. Um dort für unmittelbare Entlastung zu sorgen, spendeten die Ottobock Global Foundation und die Familie Näder insgesamt 500.000€ für Familien, die aufgrund der geistigen und körperlichen Behinderung von Angehörigen vor besonderen Herausforderungen stehen.

Die Bundesvereinigung Lebenshilfe e.V. stellte die Mittel in Zusammenarbeit mit den Landesverbänden Rheinland-Pfalz und Nordrhein-Westfalen sowie der Lebenshilfe Ahrweiler betroffenen Familien bereit. Auch Monate nach der Flutkatastrophe leben hier viele Familien weiter im Ausnahmezustand. Die finanzielle Zuwendung der Ottobock Global Foundation und der Familie Näder sorgte bei insgesamt 46 Familien mit Angehörigen mit Behinderungen für Entlastung in dieser außergewöhnlichen Lage. Die verbliebenen Mittel kamen ebenfalls betroffenen Einrichtungen der Lebenshilfe zugute.

Mehr als 100 Rollstühle für Beirut

Ottobock und Zufall leisten Soforthilfe

Bei der verheerenden Explosion in Beirut sind mehr als 4.000 Menschen verletzt worden. Gemeinsam mit der Ottobock Global Foundation leistet das international tätige Medizintechnikunternehmen Ottobock mit Sitz in Duderstadt Soforthilfe und sendet mehr als 100 Rollstühle nach Beirut. „Die Menschen benötigen jetzt schnell unsere Unterstützung. Der Großteil der Bevölkerung im Libanon lebt in Beirut. So ist fast jede Familie von der Katastrophe betroffen“, sagt Prof. Hans Georg Näder, Inhaber von Ottobock, über die humanitäre Hilfe. Der zuständige Geschäftsführer (CSO) Oliver Jakobi ergänzt: „Besonders die medizinische Versorgung vor Ort ist jetzt wichtig. Gemeinsam mit der ZUFALL logistics group hat unser Team die Hilfslieferung in kurzer Zeit ermöglicht. Dafür danke ich allen Beteiligten.“

Die Ottobock Global Foundation koordiniert das gemeinsame Projekt. „Im ersten Schritt stellt das Ottobock Werk in Königsee Rollstühle bereit, die wir nach Beirut verschicken. Wir werden dann vor Ort mit Hilfsorganisationen sprechen, inwieweit weitere Versorgungen, besonders mit Prothesen, nötig sind“, sagt Vorstandsvorsitzender Karsten Ley. Bereits seit 2015 unterstützt die Ottobock Global Foundation in Katastrophengebieten besonders Kinder und Jugendliche.

Als langjähriger Partner von Ottobock übernimmt die ZUFALL logistics group aus Göttingen den Versand der Rollstühle. „Diese Tragödie macht auch uns bei ZUFALL tief betroffen, weshalb wir die Hilfsaktion sehr gerne unterstützen“, erklärt Florian Grewe, Zentralbereichsleiter Marketing bei ZUFALL. Seine Kollegin Annette Otte, Abteilungsleiterin Seefracht der Niederlassung Göttingen, ergänzt: „Die Rollstühle werden an unserem Logistik Center am Siekanger in einen Container geladen, nach Hamburg transportiert und von dort aus verschifft. Aufgrund der Schließung des Hafens Beirut erfolgt die Verschiffung über den ca. 80 km entfernt gelegenen Hafen Tripoli, Libanon. Die Transitzeit beträgt voraussichtlich 10 Tage.“

Kinder in Not ‒ Hilfe für Syrien

Seit langem tobt in Syrien ein blutiger Bürgerkrieg, der rund eine halbe Million Opfer gefordert hat. Gerade die große Anzahl an medizinischen Versorgungen der zum Teil schwer verletzten und traumatisierten Flüchtlinge stellt die Behörden und Helfer vor große Herausforderungen. Besonders für Kinder, die im Krieg und auf der Flucht Verletzungen davongetragen haben, ist schnelle und fachkundige Hilfe dringend notwendig, um Folgeschäden in ihrer körperlichen und seelischen Entwicklung zu verhindern.

Seit mehreren Jahren ist die Ottobock Global Foundation im syrisch-türkischen Grenzgebiet aktiv, um verletzte Flüchtlingskinder mit Prothesen, Orthesen und Rollstühlen zu versorgen.

Die Ottobock Global Foundation legt bei der Versorgung der Kinder größten Wert darauf, dass eindeutig nachverfolgt werden kann, welche Menschen wo und wann versorgt worden sind. In regelmäßigen Abständen besuchen die Vorstandsmitglieder die Einrichtungen und sprechen mit den Partnern und Patienten, um eine noch gezieltere Versorgung gewährleisten zu können. Ein wichtiger Partner in diesem Projekt ist Ottobock Türkei.

Ein Herz für Kinder ‒ Projekt Syrien

Im Rahmen der ZDF-Gala „Ein Herz für Kinder“ spendete die Ottobock Global Foundation Rollstühle für behinderte Kinder und Jugendliche. Die Organisation Human Plus e.V. , ein Projektpartner von „Ein Herz für Kinder“, hatte Bedarf angemeldet.

„Es ist mir eine Herzensangelegenheit, Kindern in Not zu helfen. Viele Jungen und Mädchen haben im Krieg schwere Verletzungen erlitten, sind traumatisiert und auf Hilfsmittel angewiesen. Es ist wichtig, dass wir sie unterstützen und sie in ihrer Not nicht alleine lassen“, begründet Näder sein Engagement.

Zwölf Rollstühle hat die Ottobock Global Foundation bereits an Kinder in Syrien übergeben, weitere zwölf erhalten Jungen und Mädchen in der Ukraine.

Ein Herz für Kinder ‒ Projekt Ukraine

Als ehemaliger Sowjetstaat verspricht die Ukraine theoretisch eine kostenfrei Gesundheitsversorgung für jeden Bürger an. Die Realität sieht jedoch völlig anders aus: Das Haushaltsdefizit, die Wirtschaftskrise und fehlende Reformen führten dazu, dass die Gesundheitsversorgung nur auf dem Papier kostenlos ist. Die stellt Familien mit behinderten Kindern vor enorme Herausforderungen.

Wie bereits im Projekt Syrien erprobt, haben daher die Partner Ein Herz für Kinder, Human Plus e.V. und die Ottobock Global Foundation eine weiteres Projekt für Kinder und Jugendliche aus dem Großraum Kiew gestartet. Auch hier stand die Versorgung mit angepassten und teilweise maßgefertigten Rollstühlen in Fokus. Insgesamt wurden 12 Kinder und Jugendliche mit Hilfsmitteln versorgt.

Ein Herz für Kinder ‒ Hilfe für Rabat

Die Ottobock Global Foundation unterstützte Bild „Ein Herz für Kinder“ als aktiver Partner bei der Umsetzung einer Hilfslieferung für Kinder und Jugendliche in Marokko. Das Gesundheitswesen ist im Vergleich zu anderen afrikanischen Staaten gut entwickelt. Die medizinische Versorgung der Stadtbevölkerung ist allerdings wesentlich besser als die der Landbevölkerung. Dennoch ist für viele Familien mit mobilitätseingeschränkten Kindern die Versorgung der Kinder mit entsprechenden Hilfsmitteln sehr schwierig. Auch in diesem Projekt kooperierten die Ottobock Global Foundation und Bild „Ein Herz für Kinder“ um Kindern und Jugendlichen Elektrorollstühle zu ermöglichen.

Organe der Stiftung

Vorstand

Julia Näder
Vorstand Ottobock Global Foundation
Dr. Berit Hamer
Vorstand Ottobock Global Foundation
Karsten Ley
Vorstand Ottobock Global Foundation

Kuratorium

Prof. Hans Georg Näder
Kuratoriumsvorsitzender/Stifter der Ottobock Global Foundation
Prof. Dr. med. Axel Ekkernkamp
Kuratoriumsmitglied und stellvertretender Kuratoriumsvorsitzender Ottobock Global Foundation
Oliver Jakobi
Kuratoriumsmitglied Ottobock Global Foundation
Prof. Dr. med. Bernhard Greitemann
Kuratoriumsmitglied Ottobock Global Foundation

So können Sie uns unterstützen:

Helfen Sie uns, verletzte Kinder mit Hilfsmitteln zu versorgen und Ihnen so Unabhängigkeit und Lebensqualität zurückzugeben. Jede Spende zählt. Spenden statt schenken. Wünschen Sie sich zum nächsten feierlichen Anlass statt Geschenke eine Spende für „Kinder in Not“.

Ab einer Spendenhöhe von 200 Euro erhalten Sie gerne eine Spendenbescheinigung. Bitte teilen Sie uns dafür Ihre Adresse mit. Für darunter liegende Beträge genügt der Überweisungsträger zur Vorlage beim Finanzamt.

Spendenkonto:

Ottobock Global Foundation
Deutsche Bank
IBAN: DE55 1007 0000 0937 0370 00
BIC: DEUTDEBBXXX

Oder hier spenden: